Faculty Advisory Committee


Andrew Charles Baker

Assoc. Professor

a.baker1@umiami.edu

(305) 421-4642
Marine Technology LSSR Complex
4600 Rickenbacker Cswy
Room 144
Andrew Baker is an Associate Professor of Marine Biology and Fisheries at the University of Miami. His research focuses on the responses of coral reefs to climate change. 

Grace Barnes

Assoc. Professor

gbarnes@miami.edu

(305) 284-3860
Wolfson Building
5100 Brunson Dr
Room 4010

Kenneth Broad

Professor

k.broad@miami.edu

(305) 284-2721
Ungar Building
1365 Memorial Dr
Room 230H
Dr. Kenny Broad is an environmental anthropologist who studies the relationship between humans and their environment. He received his Ph.D. in anthropology from Columbia University in 1999. Kenny has led or participated in extreme scientific and filmmaking expeditions on every continent – from urban jungles to the deepest caves on the...

Melvin L. Butler

Assoc. Professor

mlb267@miami.edu

Frost North Studio Wing
1539 Corniche Avenue
Room 230
Quote “I am fascinated by how music becomes meaningful for people in various cultural and historical contexts. My research and writing lie at the crossroads of music, identity, and ritual, and I strive to tease out the many ways in which those who make music are also negotiating multiple forms of social, political, and spiritual...

Eduardo Elena

Assoc. Professor

edelena@miami.edu

(305) 284-4231
Ashe Administration Building
1252 Memorial Dr
Room 604

Gilberto Lopes

Assoc. Professor of Clinical

gxl405@miami.edu

(347) 205-3222
Soffer Clinical Research Ctr
1120 NW 14th St

Lillian Manzor

Assoc. Professor

lmanzor@miami.edu

(305) 284-5585
Merrick Building
5202 University Dr
Room 210.07

MarieGuerda Nicolas

Professor

nguerda@miami.edu

(305) 284-9124
Merrick Building
5202 University Dr

Johis Ortega

Associate Professor of Clinical

j.ortega10@miami.edu

(305) 284-1269
Schwartz Center Nursing/HS
5030 Brunson Dr
Room 118
Dr. Ortega is a valued undergraduate lecturer, director of undergraduate clinical placement and director of international programs at the University of Miami School of Nursing and Health Studies. He holds a BSN, MSN, and PhD from the University of Miami School of Nursing and Health Studies. He teaches Adult Health III, Role Transition,...

Carie A Penabad

Assoc. Professor
Director, Undergraduate Studies

cpenabad@miami.edu

(305) 284-5708
La Gorce House, Architecture
1228 Dickinson Dr
Room 330A
Carie Penabad is Associate Dean and Director of the Bachelor of Architecture program. Her research focuses on the study of Latin American urbanism and architecture, particularly gaining accurate data on informal settlements and their growing role in the shaping of the contemporary city. She is also a principal of CURE & PENABAD, based in...

William J Pestle

Associate Professor

w.pestle@miami.edu

(305) 284-3761
Merrick Building
5202 University Dr
Room 102E

Ileana M. Porras

Senior Lecturer

i.porras@miami.edu

(305) 284-4551
Meyer Law Administration (A)
1311 Miller Dr
Room A212

Alejandro Portes

Research Professor

a.portes@miami.edu

(305) 284-6126
Merrick Building
5202 University Dr
Room 121F
Google Scholar   EDITORIAL BOARDS Actes De La Recherche En Sciences Sociales (2004 - ) International Migration Review (2001 - ) Global Networks (2000 - ) Revista Mexicana De Sociologia (1999 - ) Ethnic and Racial Studies (1995 - )

Helena M Solo-Gabriele

Professor

hmsolo@miami.edu

(305) 284-2908
McArthur Engineering Building
1251 Memorial Dr
Room 252
Dr. Solo-Gabriele's research has focused on evaluating the relationship between the environment and human health. Her research has spanned diverse areas including evaluating the impacts of chemicals in the environment and evaluating the impacts of microbial contaminants in coastall zones.  Her research on metals/pesticides has...

Steven G. Ullmann

Professor
Department Chair, Health Sector Management and Policy
Director, Center for Health Sector Management and Policy

sullmann@miami.edu

(305) 284-9920
Jenkins Building
5250 University Dr
Room 421B