Faculty Advisory Committee


Andrew Charles Baker

Assoc. Professor

a.baker1@umiami.edu

(305) 421-4642
Andrew Baker is an Associate Professor of Marine Biology and Fisheries at the University of Miami. His research focuses on the responses of coral reefs to climate change. 

Grace Barnes

Assoc. Professor

gbarnes@miami.edu

(305) 284-3860

Kenneth Broad

Professor

k.broad@miami.edu

(305) 284-2721
Dr. Kenny Broad is an environmental anthropologist who studies the relationship between humans and their environment. He received his Ph.D. in anthropology from Columbia University in 1999. Kenny has led or participated in extreme scientific and filmmaking expeditions on every continent – from urban jungles to the deepest caves on the...

Melvin L. Butler

Assoc. Professor

mlb267@miami.edu

Quote “I am fascinated by how music becomes meaningful for people in various cultural and historical contexts. My research and writing lie at the crossroads of music, identity, and ritual, and I strive to tease out the many ways in which those who make music are also negotiating multiple forms of social, political, and spiritual...

Eduardo Elena

Assoc. Professor

edelena@miami.edu

(305) 284-4231
Eduardo Elena specializes in the history of nineteenth- and twentieth-century Latin America, with a particular interest in the societies of the South Atlantic coast (including Argentina, Uruguay, and Brazil).  Born in Montevideo, Uruguay, he grew up in the United States and was educated at the University of Virginia (B.A.) and Princeton...

Gilberto Lopes

Assoc. Professor of Clinical

gxl405@miami.edu

(347) 205-3222

Lillian Manzor

Assoc. Professor

lmanzor@miami.edu

(305) 284-5585

MarieGuerda Nicolas

Professor

nguerda@miami.edu

(305) 284-9124

Johis Ortega

Associate Professor of Clinical

j.ortega10@miami.edu

(305) 284-1269
Dr. Ortega is a valued undergraduate lecturer, director of undergraduate clinical placement and director of international programs at the University of Miami School of Nursing and Health Studies. He holds a BSN, MSN, and PhD from the University of Miami School of Nursing and Health Studies. He teaches Adult Health III, Role Transition,...

Carie A Penabad

Assoc. Professor
Director, Undergraduate Studies

cpenabad@miami.edu

(305) 284-5708
Carie Penabad is Associate Dean and Director of the Bachelor of Architecture program. Her research focuses on the study of Latin American urbanism and architecture, particularly gaining accurate data on informal settlements and their growing role in the shaping of the contemporary city. She is also a principal of CURE & PENABAD, based in...

William J Pestle

Associate Professor

w.pestle@miami.edu

(305) 284-3761
Will Pestle is a bioarchaeologist interested in the reconstruction of the lifeways of the prehistoric peoples of Latin America and the Caribbean. In his research, he uses a variety of biogeochemical analytical techniques to study patterns of subsistence, mobility, and environmental interaction in prehistoric human populations. He is in the third...

Ileana M. Porras

Senior Lecturer

i.porras@miami.edu

(305) 284-4551

Alejandro Portes

Research Professor

a.portes@miami.edu

(305) 284-6126
Google Scholar   EDITORIAL BOARDS Actes De La Recherche En Sciences Sociales (2004 - ) International Migration Review (2001 - ) Global Networks (2000 - ) Revista Mexicana De Sociologia (1999 - ) Ethnic and Racial Studies (1995 - )

Helena M Solo-Gabriele

Professor

hmsolo@miami.edu

(305) 284-2908
Dr. Solo-Gabriele's research has focused on evaluating the relationship between the environment and human health. Her research has spanned diverse areas including evaluating the impacts of chemicals in the environment and evaluating the impacts of microbial contaminants in coastall zones.  Her research on metals/pesticides has...

Steven G. Ullmann

Professor
Department Chair, Health Sector Management and Policy
Director, Center for Health Sector Management and Policy

sullmann@miami.edu

(305) 284-9920